Ducati Sporting Club UK

Old 29-Oct-2005, 10:28
Mille

Mood: whatever!
Bike Stripdown

During the winter months I am going to strip my bike right down in order to get the frame and swingarm powder coated so I'm after a little advice from anyone who may have done this before???

What I would like to know is whether there is a preferred process in stripping the bike i.e. should I remove certain parts in a particular order which would then make the overall process easier?

Also for someone reasonably competent albeit no mechanic how long is this process likely to take?

What are the best methods of recording what parts go back where etc, etc?

I have got a mate who will be helping me who is again not a mechanic but does a lot of his own servicing work etc himself so we are not total novices as such.

Any advice would be gratefully recieved.

Regards Frazelli
Old 29-Oct-2005, 10:48
500SD

Lots of photo's

Plan the storage of the bits that you are taking off, banana boxes from the supermarket are free, strong and they stack

Bubble wrap for the plastics

Re sealable plastic bags for each set of nuts bolts, preferably the bags you can write on with permanent marker.

Kettle, Tea/Coffee. Have fun
Old 29-Oct-2005, 10:48
Ducati Meccanica

Mood: I'm so happyyyyyyyyyyyy
It should take no more than a veryy relaxed day in the garage, assuming you have all the necessary tools, stands etc. I use baggies to put all the fixings in. Lable each bag with the fixings locations, e.g. seat unit, battery tray. Don't make the mistake of puuting too much in each bag and you'll sson be done.
Old 29-Oct-2005, 13:26
Big Twin

Mood: :-)
Masking tape or paper sticker tags around the end of each bit of the wiring loom / plug connector you disconnect with a note of where it went.....
Old 29-Oct-2005, 13:33
DSC Club Member
Ducati Meccanica
Bikes: '01 Ducati 748R and '04 Mille RSVR

Mood: Awaiting the arrival of the sun and the disappearance of the rain
After panels/bodywork etc,