Ducati Sporting Club UK

Old 27-Sep-2004, 15:29

Question

I am new to Ducati ownership and this message board.

I have a 1999 748 Bip and on my last run on the bike a strange thing happened to the rear sprocket carrier - cush drive thing.
One of the rubber cush drive things seems to have seperated off the center bolt and moved out and has been rubbing on the chain adjuster (ali swarf everywhere).
Is this normal and is it repair by replacement or rectifacation?
Old 27-Sep-2004, 15:34
Mille
Bikes: 1098

Mood: Enjoying a REAL summer!
Cush Drives

Hi there 66,

It's a well known and documented problem - try doing a search on 'cush drives' or 'rear hub' and all will be revealed.
Cheers

Giles
Old 27-Sep-2004, 15:42
BSB Star

Mood: All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing
66, suggest that you don't ride the bike till this is rectified. As Clippy says it's a well known and documented problem. The favoured way to sort it out for once and for all seems to be to fit a quick release sprocket carrier that holds the cush drives captive - unlikely the original equipment. I know that Nelly at Cornerspeed has them in stock and will fit it for you at the cost of about an hours labour I believe. But whatever you decide, don't ride the bike till it's fixed cos it could conceivably lock up your back wheel which would be mildly entertaining.

Cornerspeed (Nelly) - 01623 758877
Old 27-Sep-2004, 23:13
Ducati in my Blood

Mood: Back down to 3 :>(
Ive got a new 'mk2' sprocket flange with the spacer which will cure this problem...£75...they are about £110 new I think.

Cheers
Nat
Old 27-Sep-2004, 23:42
Big Twin

thought the new flange only sorted the circlip wear issue, not the cush drives backing out?
Old 28-Sep-2004, 11:04
Ducati Corse

Mood: Bloo and Yellow.. and Red now ;)