Ducati Sporting Club UK

Old 28-Jun-2004, 13:52

900SS \'Red Line\'?

I have a recently aquired 2001 900SSie. Can anyone clarify what the max rev limit is for this bike assuming cam belts etc are in good order. The handbook says 7500 on one page but on a diagram on a different page shows a line through 9000.

I know that revs are not necesarily the name of the game with this particular engine but equally don't want to be wasting that last bit of 'pull' in each gear by short shifting unnecesarily all the time.

Cheers

Andy
Old 28-Jun-2004, 14:17
Big Twin

Mood: Sans moto
My rev limiter comes in at 9250 rpm.
But I find 8500 is about the best point to change in full on mode!
Old 29-Jun-2004, 17:28

Thanks for your reply Steve. That gives me a bit more than I've been using up to now.

Though I have had no trouble whatever with either my previous 620 or the current 900, I am new to Ducatis (though now sold on them for life!) and am aware of their reputation among some folk as being a bit fragile if pushed too hard.

Guess all will be fine given proper and timely servicing tho'
Old 29-Jun-2004, 17:34
Big Twin

These engines are fine just so long as they are properly looked after and nothing too silly is done tunning wise.
happy to help
Old 29-Jun-2004, 22:33
Ducati Meccanica

Mood: Damp
I'm on my second 900 and have always revved the nuts off 'em when necessary

I spoke to Neil at Sigma about this t'other day, as he does flywheel lightening. When combined with lighter pistons/rods, this means a drastic loss in moving mass, making it much safer to rev higher.

Unfortunately it also means the loss of the deep duke throb that's all the character in a 2v, so I'm not too sure about getting it done. Probably easier to buy a weekend rice rocket...

Cheers,

Ali
Old 29-Jun-2004, 22:51
500SD

Mood: Blooo Duke gets red heads
Hi M8
Ive tried to get the best from the engine, before and after various external and internal mods