Ducati Sporting Club UK

Old 24-May-2005, 13:24
Montjuic

Mood: got to be a worry.....!
Clutch problem

Whilst out riding over the weekend I began to notice that my clutch was biting much nearer the bar grip and there was a covering of fine black dust over my brake pedal, foot pegs etc.

are the two linked?
what is/has happened?
is it expensive?

the bike was serviced only two weeks ago.
Old 24-May-2005, 13:45
Mille
Bikes: 998Bip

Mood: Carbonara
Hi Frank,

As the saying goes, I'm no expert, but I have tinkered with my clutch extensively, with good results.

The biting nearer the grip -

First place to look would be to bleed your clutch - bleed very thoroughly using the bleed nipple on the slave cylinder (in front of the drive sprocket), followed by the bleed nipple on the handlebar master cylinder (if fitted). Also, try tying the lever in to the handle bar overnight, this may allow trapped air bubbles to escape.

Dust on foot-peg etc -

Do you by any chance have an open clutch cover? If the clutch is dragging due to being in need of a bleed, it may be producing excess dust and depositing it in that area if you stop at traffic lights etc with the bike in gear and the clutch disengaged.

Otherwise its termites.

Best of luck sorting it.

Spinoli
Old 24-May-2005, 15:07
Montjuic

As it happens I don't have an open clutch cover.

It is virtually impossible to get the bike in neutral as well with the engine running.

would this have been looked at on a third coupon service?
Old 24-May-2005, 15:27
888 at Last !!!

Mood: Fed up...
I would have thought they checked the clutch.
Give the dealer a ring and ask them, if they say yes then you can tell them that they've nadged your clutch.

Just a thought
Old 24-May-2005, 15:48
Dibble