Ducati Sporting Club UK

Old 29-Mar-2009, 17:53
Mille

Battery light on

Just started the bike up for the first time in 5 months to take it out for a run, Took a bit of turning over to get it to fire up as I would have expected, All was well for about 1 mile when the battery light lit up, I first thought that it was just cos the lights were on and the amount of turning over it took to fire it up must have flattened the battery and it was strugling to charge it. Few more miles down the road and light still on so came home to find out whats wrong!
Im not that good with electrics but am assuming it is the regulater or altenator, I know regulaters are a problem but thought that it was on the early ss's mine is a 97,

So how do I check the regulator and altenator or could there be anything else causing the light to stay on

Just been out and tested battery with bike not running 12.1V
Bike running on tickover 11.8V
Running full lights on tickover 11.5V
Running full lights on at 2000rpm 11.5v
running full lights on at 4000rpm 11.5V

so from that im assuming the battery isnt charging but dont know how and what to test next

Last edited by Red-Duc : 29-Mar-2009 at 18:15.
Old 29-Mar-2009, 18:12
Mille

Mood: what a day, a year, a life it's been
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red-Duc
Just started the bike up for the first time in 5 months to take it out for a run, Took a bit of turning over to get it to fire up as I would have expected, All was well for about 1 mile when the battery light lit up, I first thought that it was just cos the lights were on and the amount of turning over it took to fire it up must have flattened the battery and it was strugling to charge it. Few more miles down the road and light still on so came home to find out whats wrong!
Im not that good with electrics but am assuming it is the regulater or altenator, I know regulaters are a problem but thought that it was on the early ss's mine is a 97,