Ducati Sporting Club UK

Old 14-Sep-2003, 23:49
thrustercat

More Clutch Problems on my 748...Help!

Hiya Chaps, not a good weekend…I fear that I have, yet again, more clutch problems. I have not owned my 1999 748bp for long and I seem to be having lots of problems in a short space of time. I’m kind of new to DSC and hope that someone can point me in the right direction.

I have noticed that the clutch lever action on my 748 seems to have a little extra play than it should. On looking at some of the comments posted by dukess999 clutch problem ‘Stephen’ mentioned that the slave cylinder could have seized… perhaps this could be my problem?! I know for a fact that the clutch is not slipping.

Even when I have the bike in 1st gear and the clutch lever pulled in (when stood still), I have noticed that I cannot move the bike back and forth in a ‘neutral’ gear state.

I had a 12k service at the end of July by TecMoto, primarily because I had the classic slipping clutch problem. The plates were replaced which solved the problem.

I would be grateful if someone can point me in the right direction, or perhaps help me to diagnose the problem further.

Much appreciated for any help you can provide.

[Edited on 28-9-2003 by thrustercat]

[Edited on 6-10-2003 by thrustercat]
Old 15-Sep-2003, 00:20
Ducati Corse

Mood: Tad more confident
thrustercat. Remove the clutch cover and see how much the pressure plate moves when pulling in the clutch. See if by pumping the lever the plate moves any further. The reason I say this is that once when cleaning out my clutch I managed to let the fluid level drop. Don't ask me how because I've no idea, When came to use the clutch I could feel straight away that all was not well. The lever came all the way back to the bar without any real resistance. Once I bled the system it was fine.
Old 15-Sep-2003, 17:11
thrustercat

thanks for the advice Jon, I shall bleed the clutch sometime this week, hopefully this will lead to an easy solution.