Ducati Sporting Club UK

Old 21-Jun-2004, 16:47
Big Twin

Mood: :devil:
Wet weather track tyre...don\'t fancy full wets

Just wondering what your thoughts were for a set of wet weather track tyres without going for full wets. Not sure I'd get any real use from full wets so wouldn't mind a reasonable tyre that if it starts to rain I could chuck on. I'm not one for constantly swapping wheels so if it dries out then they can stay on. How about 208's? They any good in the wet?

I currently use Rennsports and don't mind them too much in the damp if that's any guide to you
Old 21-Jun-2004, 18:20
Montjuic

I'd have thought you'd be better off with the 207 pattern than the 208. The 207GP has been a perennial favourite in. There's a helluva deal available on 207RR's, as used exclusively by CSS, although I've no personal experience of them yet.

Andy
Old 21-Jun-2004, 18:26
Big Twin

I used to use the 207RR's in the dry before I moved over to Rennsports but never really got to use them in the wet. I just assumed the 208 would be a better step forward but maybe the 207 at bargain prices is the way to go for the amount of use they'll get.
Old 21-Jun-2004, 18:41
Ducati Meccanica

Mood: Is 112 dB loud enough?? What??
I ran 207 RR's at the very wet DSC trackday at Mallory last year and they behaved very well. Clearly, they won't give you the ultimate traction as full wets do, but they make a good intermediate tyre in my experience. At the current prices, you can't beat it.

There also was a Bridgestone tyre that was highly rated in the wet but I can't remember which one.
Old 21-Jun-2004, 18:46
Ducati in my Blood

Mood: I love my 996 xxx
Not so sure about the 208's... I use the 208GP, and yesterday used them on wet roads for the first time. They were crap! Slippy slidey all over the place. OK, so the RR's do have a better tread pattern, but I didn't get on with them in the wet either.