Ducati Sporting Club UK

Old 17-Feb-2006, 18:25

MTS???

Hi
I just bought a 2003 1000ds on a whim.I also have a 2002 suzuki bandit which isn't a bad bike at all.
Anyway I have only put a couple of hundred miles on the MTS but I cannot take to it at all.Firstly I am not too experienced ,only a year under my belt so far so that might account for some of the complaints I have.
Okay,what is going on with that suspension?It's like riding a pogo stick!Which would be fun except when you are in 2 gear with that throttle control it can get even more erratic.I find it very difficult to ride smoothly,The heavy clutch makes hard work of feathering to try and even out the on /off engine power that seems to beset this beast.Not a town bike!
I also find it hard work on roundabouts.2nd is too lumpy and requires more clutch massaging.First is too snatchy and requires even more massaging!Groan!
Mirrors?What mirrors?They are useless.Too small and too short and they vibrate like hell.
Front screen is useless and lifts me bunnet off above 90mph.
I don't even like the bars/riding position.I find the steering downright weird at low speeds.
Low tank range 110miles
What have I done!!
Or I am still to be convinced?I know there are a lot of modifications you can do to this bike .....but should you have too?Are we not pandering to the Ducati myth/style badge wearing?
When I arrived home with it a neighbour asked if I could cut his grass!
I love the sound though at least.
God I'm depressed!
I allways wanted a duke but maybe this is the wrong one for me.
Any advice,both sensible and critical,is most welcome.
Cheers
Old 17-Feb-2006, 19:11
Ducati Dealer
Mille
Bikes: 1098R Track Bike

Mood: Dealer of the Year 2008
Quote:
Originally posted by urga
Hi
I just bought a 2003 1000ds on a whim.I also have a 2002 suzuki bandit which isn't a bad bike at all.