Ducati Sporting Club
Home Calendar Gallery Membership Online Shop DSC Blogs Extras
Go Back   Ducati Sporting Club > General > Technical - Help or Info - NON Motorcycle
Reload this Page Wireless broadband
Forum Home Register FAQ Search Forum Recent Posts Mark Forums Read

Technical - Help or Info - NON Motorcycle PC's, Internet etc. Cars, or how to fix that leaky radiator - in here please!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 17-Aug-2006, 10:25 AM
antonye's Avatar
DSC Member antonye antonye is offline
Administrator
Webteam
MotoGP God
Bikes: 748S, HM1100S, DD-A
 
Posts: 12,714
Join Date: Feb 2002
Mood: Passion Killer
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockhopper
Dam, you susssed my top secret passwords!

Default settings, innit!

You can login and check that your MAC address is in the list, and I think (if I remember correctly...) that you can manually add them as well.

If you are already in there then it may be something with the key - I know they can be a bit iffy and require the hex in UPPER CASE.


I'd rather die peacefully in my sleep like my Grandfather,
than screaming in terror like his passengers.- Jim Harkins

Ducati 748S | Ducati Hypermotard 1100S | 600-620SS DesmoDue Racebike #111 <-- Sold!! | Avanti Race Parts
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 17-Aug-2006, 10:46 AM
rockhopper's Avatar
rockhopper rockhopper is offline
Registered Forum User
Ducati Corse
 
Posts: 3,370
Join Date: Jul 2001
I'm fairly confident that its a key issue as the computer can connect to the network but keeps telling me that it requires a network key to authenticate. The key on the bottom of the live box matches the key on the CD packet and i've entered it in upper case with figure zeros instead of letter O's and no gaps.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 17-Aug-2006, 11:26 AM
antonye's Avatar
DSC Member antonye antonye is offline
Administrator
Webteam
MotoGP God
Bikes: 748S, HM1100S, DD-A
 
Posts: 12,714
Join Date: Feb 2002
Mood: Passion Killer
Ah, I think I had the same when setting up someone's before - in the Invensys software I'm sure there are a couple of different ways to enter the key (hex/string) so try the other way?


I'd rather die peacefully in my sleep like my Grandfather,
than screaming in terror like his passengers.- Jim Harkins

Ducati 748S | Ducati Hypermotard 1100S | 600-620SS DesmoDue Racebike #111 <-- Sold!! | Avanti Race Parts
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 17-Aug-2006, 11:42 AM
TopiToo TopiToo is offline
Registered Forum User
Ducati Meccanica
Bikes: 748ish . .
 
Posts: 2,122
Join Date: Sep 2001
Mood: Sampai jumpa lagi
Hello antonye

can I ask if you don't mind
I was told that wireless devices have certain channels
that they prefer to work on ie 1, 6 and 11 due to interference
from other radio devices.

If for example if I am on channel 1 and goto connect
sometimes I see other, pc's on the same channel as me.


Can this slow down my connection?
would I be advised to select another channel


many thanks

TopiToo
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 17-Aug-2006, 11:55 AM
antonye's Avatar
DSC Member antonye antonye is offline
Administrator
Webteam
MotoGP God
Bikes: 748S, HM1100S, DD-A
 
Posts: 12,714
Join Date: Feb 2002
Mood: Passion Killer
Not too sure - I'm not an expert but have setup some Wanadoo (now Orange) kit for friends and family so know the ins and outs of them... and what a pain they can be!

As for the channels, that's not quite right. There are different specifications (read: speeds) of wireless which your computer may be able to work at.

The spec is IEEE 802.11 x, where x is a letter and the most common in use are:

802.11b - operates at 2.4GHz and supports upto 11Mbps, ~ 100 feet range.

802.11a - operates at 5GHz, upto 54Mbps, ~ 100 feet range.

802.11g - operates at 2.4GHz, upto 108Mbps, ~ 100 feet range.

I think these are the "channels" that you have been told about. The problem with the 2.4GHz range (b and g) is that this is the UK's "anything goes" range, so it gets flooded by everything from microwave ovens to bluetooth to video senders, so sometimes you can get interference on them.

The channels you can "see" in your wireless networks section are just other people's home/office networks. Unless you have the keys for them, you won't be able to get into them, and as such it shouldn't interfere with your network. The range is quite poor on wireless, especially as brick walls soak up the radio waves quite nicely, and this is why wireless is quite an attractive, low range option.

So, in summary, there's not much you can do about selecting "another channel" unless your hardware supports it, and you'll probably be running b or g anyway, and because they operate at the same frequency it won't make any difference!

As long as you're not actually connection to the other networks, it won't slow down your connection, but it may (slightly) degrade the quality of your connection.

So don't worry about it


I'd rather die peacefully in my sleep like my Grandfather,
than screaming in terror like his passengers.- Jim Harkins

Ducati 748S | Ducati Hypermotard 1100S | 600-620SS DesmoDue Racebike #111 <-- Sold!! | Avanti Race Parts
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 17-Aug-2006, 12:11 PM
TopiToo TopiToo is offline
Registered Forum User
Ducati Meccanica
Bikes: 748ish . .
 
Posts: 2,122
Join Date: Sep 2001
Mood: Sampai jumpa lagi
Hello antonye

Thanks for that

I have mine set at standard 802.11b &802.11g and the signal strength is around 74dBm, this signal can vary between day and night I guess due to interference.

is there any way of improving the strenght, barring putting the PC next to the router?

TopiToo
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 17-Aug-2006, 12:22 PM
Loz's Avatar
Loz Loz is offline
Registered Forum User
Big Twin
 
Posts: 1,974
Join Date: Apr 2004
Mood: Train comes and I know its destination
Within the 2.4GHz band, most routers offer you 13 channels you can choose from. The default channel offered by most routers is No. 11 and there is no need to change this unless you find that interference from other sources is affecting your connectivity on this channel.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 17-Aug-2006, 09:20 PM
rockhopper's Avatar
rockhopper rockhopper is offline
Registered Forum User
Ducati Corse
 
Posts: 3,370
Join Date: Jul 2001
I went out at lunch time and bought a Belkin wireless card. Came home tonight, ran the utility, plugged the card in and it works perfectly!

Many thanks for everyones help.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 17-Aug-2006, 10:11 PM
Jools's Avatar
DSC Member Jools Jools is offline
DSC Club Member
BSB Star
 
Posts: 6,934
Join Date: Jul 2002
Mood: MT Meglomaniac
Thanks for buying a Belkin wireless card, my daughter works in sales for Belkin so I want as many people to buy Belkin stuff as possible so that she becomes extremely wealthy and can support her dads Ducati addiction into old age


The Patent Jools Mood Meter -Today I am:


___________^
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 17-Aug-2006, 10:26 PM
Tonio600's Avatar
Tonio600 Tonio600 is offline
Registered Forum User
Ducati in my Blood
 
Posts: 4,379
Join Date: Dec 2004
Mood: What a wonderful world.
Quote:
Originally Posted by antonye
As for the channels, that's not quite right. There are different specifications (read: speeds) of wireless which your computer may be able to work at.

Not exactly Ant, the channels are simply communication channels. If you set your AP to the channel 11 you may want to set all other devices to the same channel. I think it has been designed for busy environments (loads of wireless networks in the same area, using different channels may prevent data collision or something like this ).

The wireless standards (b, g, etc...) is something else as you explained it.

Finally what you call the channels seen in the "my network" or whatever MS calls them are wireless lans identified by their (SS)ID. Lucky people can enjoy free Internet connection by connecting to their neighbours unsecured ESSID

So basically, the channel doesn't matter as soon as all your devices use the same one
Reply With Quote
Reply
  
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector
Switch to Vertical postbit Use Vertical Postbit

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Recent Posts - Contact Us - DSC Home - Archive - Top
Powered by vBulletin 3.5.4 - Copyright © 2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. - © Ducati Sporting Club - All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:46 AM.