Ducati Sporting Club UK

Old 10-Mar-2012, 18:11
Mille

998S electrical gremlin

After winter service I fired up the 998s, all was well until i started playing with the switches to make sure all worked before the MoT, the headlight started to flicker when i tried high beam then all electrical items stopped (bike still ran ok)

The bike starts ok but nothing else works!

I had something similar happen while i was riding last year, I stopped at petrol station replaced all fuses (to no avail) then carried on with the ride, it all started working again!

It may of had an alarm at some stage but long since removed, some of the wiring behind the fuse box doesn't look proper!

Any ideas?
Old 11-Mar-2012, 07:42
Mille

No 12v at kill switch 7.5a fuse regardless of key on/off, side stand switch removed. Think I have narrowed it down some more.
Old 12-Mar-2012, 10:07
DSC Club Member
Big Twin

Mood: Im Going to Italy soon!
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacknash
No 12v at kill switch 7.5a fuse regardless of key on/off, side stand switch removed. Think I have narrowed it down some more.

Whilst not having exactly the same problem, we are going to have to look at the electrics on my Sons 998S next weekend.

The DataTool alarm had been playing up because of poor fitting and a couple of wires touching. This meant for some reason hat you coldn't turn the sidelights off at all and the battery was going flat.

We have managed to isolate the alarm temporarily on Saturday afternoon - but that hasn't fixed the lights. At the sam time I found that even with the ignition key off and out the lead to the gearbox neutral switch still was showing 12V

Either we have trapped wires somewhere or someone has been at the wiring elsewhere!

We ran out of light on Saturday so will recomence next weekend.

All being well I should have located a wiring diagram by then which will allow us to trace the circuits through.