Ducati Sporting Club UK

Old 10-Jun-2005, 19:38
Mille

Mood: thrash the bitch
ST2 Good bad or just an aquired taste

I have lived with the ST2 now for just over the year and as much as it is a great bike out on the open road, it is a complete pig around town and on the usuall poor condition roads we all ride on it scores no better.
This could just be my Bike or my lack of ability, but in my defence I have been riding for a few years.
The clutch is horrible and heavy and coming into corners or slowing down the throttle is snatchy.
I can never seem to find the right gear getting into corners or on roundabouts, is it me or shall I bin the Duke and get a Honda Hornet, sorry I didnt mean that, are 4 values any better ?
Old 10-Jun-2005, 19:46
Montjuic

Mood: tyred and exhausted
Don't give up on it.

My ST4s is my first duke and after 3 years I am getting better on it. I still don't get every corner right and round town it is a pig. The clutch is a constant source of annoyance to me.

On the other hand there is nothing I would rather ride over the alps. Firing it out of hairpins was the best. Get out there and use it for what it was designed for and you'll fall in love.

Have you thought about a few mofifications? I think you get adjustable levers as standard now but they have transformed the bike for me. As has a bit of lower gearing - this has made the revs higher in any given situation and made the negine come alive.
Old 10-Jun-2005, 19:49
DSC Club Member
BSB Star

Mood: MT Meglomaniac
Well, I've acquired the taste. ST2's are very underated in my view. They're not the most powerful thing on the planet, far from it, but they have plenty enough power not to be embarrased on rideouts and they can hold their own in the fast group on trackdays (as long as you're on a handling circuit, not a power circuit).

Basically, they can scratch, they can tour, they're comfy...what more do you want...