Ducati Sporting Club UK
Technical - Help or Info - NON Motorcycle
PC's, Internet etc. Cars, or how to fix that leaky radiator - in here please!

Old 10-Jan-2005, 15:51
Big Twin

PC techie help needed!

I am a PC novice...so please stay with me...

I've been thinking about ungrading my (30GB) hard drive over the past couple of weeks, due to it becoming rammed to the rafters due to my love of games and surfing etc.

Also...it now appears to have become 'infected' by a load of crap/spam that has probably come from the web (despite running SP2 and AVG).

So...in an aim to kill 2 birds with one stone, the questions is, how easy is it remove the old drive, and replace it with another (120GB)? I have done a little research into it and it seems feasible. The bit that is a little confusing is when things like partitioning, bios and disc formatting are mentioned! I guess that once I get into it, it will become a little self-explanitory...

I have the windows XP CD here etc...and to be honest, apart from gaming and surfing, it is used for very little else (not for work etc), so I'm not even sure if I need to do anything in terms of backing up...as I have nothing to lose on the machine!

Any obvious pointers/step-by-step guides before I dive in
Old 10-Jan-2005, 16:13
500SD
Bikes: 999 Mono/1198S

Mood: Messing with diagnostics
Upgrade

Provided you've got your discs, ie a boot up disc (if you need one for XP), your XP disc and your driver discs for any hardware attached, it is quite simple to upgrade. With a new drive you will have to FDISK it first to create the DOS partitions. It sounds complicated but is quite simple to do. The disc will then need to be formatted. Then off you go with your installation of XP. If you have DriveImage or similar software you can actaully make a direct image of your old drive without having to do the above. You sometimes get it bundled with the motherboard.

This explains about FDISK

http://home7.inet.tele.dk/batfiles/m...htm&fdisk1.htm