Ducati Sporting Club UK
Idle Chat
Still needs to be clean and of value to the club.

Old 13-Jan-2009, 00:36
Administrator
Webteam
MotoGP God
Bikes: 748S, HM1100S, V4SP, Was: DD-A #111

Mood: Passion Killer
Donington Lose MotoGP to Silverstone in 2010

Silverstone will host the British MotoGP from 2010 after signing a five-year deal to stage the event.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/moto...es/7825163.stm

Personally, I've had some really bad experiences on MotoGP days at Donington, including the infamous 5 HOURS it took to get out of the circuit once! I've never rated the facilities and everything was over-priced, especially the food which was dreadful.

Yes the track is awesome and has history, but as a whole package it was lacking.

What do you think?

I'd rather die peacefully in my sleep like my Grandfather,
than screaming in terror like his passengers.- Jim Harkins

Ducati 748S | Ducati Hypermotard 1100S | Ducati Panigale V4 SP #876 | 600-620SS DesmoDue Racebike #111 <-- Sold!!
Old 13-Jan-2009, 09:17
Ducati Meccanica
Bikes: R1200RT F800GS. Hopefully another Ducati soon

for me i think its a retrograde step for motorcycling, having been to Donnington for BSB, WSBK & MotoGP it only takes 5 hours if you go in a car, it takes me about 10/15 mins to get to the A42 on the bike and the viewing at Donnington is IMO better suited to bikes. I have been to Silverstone for BSB & F1 and IMO the track suits F1, BSB was fairly poor viewing.

Its a shame as Silverstone is an hour closer than Donnington for me.
Old 13-Jan-2009, 10:22
WSB Hero

Mood: No point in working long hours to die early
If there was a field of 40 bikes Silverstone would be awesome.

Donnington, i have never been keen on the place.
Old 13-Jan-2009, 10:35
Ducati Corse

Mood: R U thinking what I'm thinking?......Oh dear!
Neither Silverstone or Donnington are up to the mark IMHO.

Silverstone is 3 miles wide and the speccys are so far back they ought to provide binoculars.