Ducati Sporting Club UK
DesmoDue - General Questions and Chat
Discussions on the race series devised and supported by the DSC.

Old 28-Dec-2005, 18:24
Mille

Mood: 1st,start to finish
Front fork height.

Anyone no what the front fork height is above the top yoke on a 583.Photos show 4 rings mines on 6 but set by a vertically challenged person and the handbook says nothing.Any ideas
Old 28-Dec-2005, 19:13
MotoGP God

Mood: Its ONLY a Bike Club
Reading through my DD diary from last year it looks as if I had 20mm protruding before I started playing with different preload spacers.

http://www.ducatisportingclub.com/xm...5043#pid216513
Old 28-Dec-2005, 19:38
Administrator
Webteam
MotoGP God
Bikes: 748S, HM1100S, V4SP, Was: DD-A #111

Mood: Passion Killer
It's not that easy - depends on your springs, oil, air gap, valve changes and any other mods you've done. Then there's the back end to worry about, before even considering your own weight and the weight distribution to take into account.

Just set it at something (like in the middle) and see how it goes for your testing, then adjust from there. Sounds simple/silly/unhelpful, but that's the only thing you can adjust on the track!
Old 28-Dec-2005, 20:46
Mille

Mood: 1st,start to finish
Thanks for that chaps.I think theres more to this than i thought.Anyone no where the road bike would be set as standard.

Enjoyed both of your diarys by the way and made a donation as you requested Antonye.
Thanks again
Old 29-Dec-2005, 12:57
Big Twin

Mood: renegade sexy racer
Quote:
Originally posted by Griff 64
Anyone no what the front fork height is above the top yoke on a 583.Photos show 4 rings mines on 6 but set by a vertically challenged person and the handbook says nothing.Any ideas

Don't forget to look up the posts Re: front tyre profile, you can use a 60 or 70. The 70 profile front is 12mm bigger but I think the general consensus is it's the one to go with.