Ducati Sporting Club
Home Calendar Gallery Membership Online Shop DSC Blogs Extras
Go Back   Ducati Sporting Club > Model Specific - Discussion, Technical Problems and Help > General - Motorcycle only
Reload this Page Help please - Rev counter on 1098?
Forum Home Register FAQ Search Forum Recent Posts Mark Forums Read

General - Motorcycle only Motorcycle Tech only please.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29-Aug-2012, 07:55 AM
pbrown pbrown is offline
Registered Forum User
Mille
 
Posts: 378
Join Date: May 2003
Help please - Rev counter on 1098?

Looking to add an aftermarket rev counter to 1098 to get thru' noise testing since my clocks have stopped working.

What's the best way to do this & what type of rev counter do I need? Doesn't need to be a long term fix.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29-Aug-2012, 09:30 PM
skidlids's Avatar
DSC Region Organiser skidlids skidlids is offline
MotoGP God
 
Posts: 18,175
Join Date: Apr 2002
Mood: Its ONLY a Bike Club
Depending on ECU,
916/748
900/750SSie
Elliot
Spa
Scitsu
Stack

Some you have to configure to get the right reading on a twin


Checkout the Desmo Due Paddock on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29-Aug-2012, 10:47 PM
pbrown pbrown is offline
Registered Forum User
Mille
 
Posts: 378
Join Date: May 2003
ECU is 5AM2 I believe. Any idea which is the TACH wire from ECU to clocks or would I tie in to the coil wire?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29-Aug-2012, 11:58 PM
skidlids's Avatar
DSC Region Organiser skidlids skidlids is offline
MotoGP God
 
Posts: 18,175
Join Date: Apr 2002
Mood: Its ONLY a Bike Club
The Standard Dash gets the Tacho signal via the CAN line so little you can do with that, Standard dash must be working in some form otherwise fueling would be a bit off.
Are you intending to add another Tacho alongside the standard unit, something like a Stack or Spa unit will pickup off the coil trigger wire


Checkout the Desmo Due Paddock on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30-Aug-2012, 06:58 AM
pbrown pbrown is offline
Registered Forum User
Mille
 
Posts: 378
Join Date: May 2003
I've broken the dash display in a crash & the rev counter doesn't display. I was looking to leave the existing dash on until I got a new one & have a separate rev counter for noise testing purposes only.

I have a 2nd hand dash hopefully turning up on friday which has had the IMMO removed to work with a nemasis ecu but I wasn't sure whether that would work with my ECU without IMMO being disabled on ECU.

Eventually I will get the dash and/or ecu sent off & paired but this quick fix was just to get me out this weekend.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30-Aug-2012, 01:08 PM
chrisw's Avatar
chrisw chrisw is offline
Registered Forum User
500SD
Bikes: 999 Mono/1198S
 
Posts: 803
Join Date: Jun 2002
Mood: Messing with diagnostics
There is no immo in the 1098 ECU, it is all in the dash.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30-Aug-2012, 01:13 PM
pbrown pbrown is offline
Registered Forum User
Mille
 
Posts: 378
Join Date: May 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisw
There is no immo in the 1098 ECU, it is all in the dash.

Chris, I know you told me this before & I'm hoping your right but I've seen conflicting info on this so was trying to hedge my bets.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30-Aug-2012, 06:23 PM
chrisw's Avatar
chrisw chrisw is offline
Registered Forum User
500SD
Bikes: 999 Mono/1198S
 
Posts: 803
Join Date: Jun 2002
Mood: Messing with diagnostics
The ECU's in the 1098 (plus other later bikes) are completely virgin and never been coded. If someone takes your money to remove the immo then they are ripping you off.

Here's a screen shot off my 1198S ECU showing it is Virgin and uncoded (same applies to the 1098/848/SF and HM)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Ducatidiag Virgin ECU.jpg (100.0 KB, 8 views)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30-Aug-2012, 06:44 PM
skidlids's Avatar
DSC Region Organiser skidlids skidlids is offline
MotoGP God
 
Posts: 18,175
Join Date: Apr 2002
Mood: Its ONLY a Bike Club
Nemesis ECU will work happily even if the clocks are coded as it ignores the IMMO part so i'm a bit worried when you say the dash has been decoded to work with a Nemesis as its not a requirement.

So far I have fitted 1098 Nemesis ECUs to two Desmo Due race bikes along with stripped down looms and 2nd hand dashes from a 1098.

if you have had the IMMO removed from the replacement dash then I would have thought the standard ECU would be OK. Bit like fitting the Virgin ECU on my 620 a couple of years back, providing a standard dash was fitted it would run with or without the clocks being coded providing the coded ones (IMMO function operating) had the the keys transponder to read from.

I may be wrong here but as far as I know a Virgin ECU is not the same as a ECU with the IMMO off, its just NOT yet been coded but still requires a signal from clocks


Checkout the Desmo Due Paddock on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 30-Aug-2012, 07:11 PM
skidlids's Avatar
DSC Region Organiser skidlids skidlids is offline
MotoGP God
 
Posts: 18,175
Join Date: Apr 2002
Mood: Its ONLY a Bike Club
I have one of these handy little things, without the 3 stage bit just a single shift LED
http://webspace.webring.com/people/v...ht/closeup.jpg

They not only display revs in a digital display but it also provides a shiftlight that you can set to where you want it and is also compact


Checkout the Desmo Due Paddock on Facebook
Reply With Quote
Reply
  
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector
Switch to Vertical postbit Use Vertical Postbit

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Recent Posts - Contact Us - DSC Home - Archive - Top
Powered by vBulletin 3.5.4 - Copyright © 2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. - © Ducati Sporting Club - All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:18 PM.