Ducati Sporting Club UK

Old 24-Jun-2005, 20:43

Clutch 2001 ST4S

I picked up my ST4S in the pouring rain this afternoon, choosing to wear my leathers rather than my wet weather kit...mmmmm good choice - not!

I had a great time going down the M3 to Camberley but the clutch lever seems to be very long (i.e a lot of travel) and it is quite hard work, any ideas?

Can I change it to one of those adjustable ones' that you get on the superbikes? If so how much will it cost me?

Thanks
Old 24-Jun-2005, 20:52
Big Twin

Mood: :-)
You can usually pick up a complete goldline clutch master cylinder on ebay forabout £40 - £50 or you can just fit the lever to your master cylinder which you can pick up for about £20 for pattern & £35 for genuine.
I have goldline clutch & brake cyls on my 4S & they are excellent.
Old 24-Jun-2005, 21:00

Thanks Rushjob but I am not very technical can I give you a call about this. I also put in 'goldline clutch master cylinder' and it turned up zero results is that because there are none or am I being too specific?

Thanks in advance!
Old 27-Jun-2005, 13:27
Montjuic

Mood: tyred and exhausted
I picked up a pair of adjustable levers for my ST4s from Spareshack for £35.00 last year.

I am the biggest mechanical numpty in the world and I managed to fit them in about ten minutes flat.

I would try this first as it's a quick and cheap fix, makes the clutch mutch easier to pull. If you still need help then try the master cylinder route - you may not need to. Worst case scenario is you might need to adjust the lock stops under the top yoke and that's a top fairing off job (something you had better get used to doing anyway!).

It's the first thing I did to my bike and still one of the best, that and the 14 tooth conversion.
Old 27-Jun-2005, 16:45
Ducati Corse

Adjusting the lock stops? Whatever for?
Old 28-Jun-2005, 11:02
Montjuic

Mood: tyred and exhausted