Ducati Sporting Club UK

Old 06-Aug-2003, 21:24
500SD

Mood: I can live with backpain!
Rear brake siezed

My back brake has jammed (again) and after taking off the caliper and looking at the pistons they didnt seem too crappy.It was really hard to force them back in a bit though,and after thinking about this a bit I suspect it may be something to do with the master cylinder.Before touching it the lever had no resistance and flopped up and down -no pressure to return it,this also meant my brake light was permanently on.
After forcing the pistons back into the caliper I noticed the pressure had returned to the lever ,though from past experience I know this'll only work once or twice before giving up again.
I'm no mechanic and have effectively reached the limit of my skills here,so what do I do next? The brake is no longer dragging but as I use mine I dont like riding without it,Ducati Glasgow is an hour away and a real pain in the @rse to get to from here but if thats my only option so be it.
Will I be looking at a replacement master cylinder? and what'll that cost me?.....or have I missed something simple?
Old 06-Aug-2003, 22:13
Big Twin

Mood: Waiting for the change (Not the menopause)
Dave

I’d be very surprised if it were the master cylinder causing this problem, it sound more like calliper problem as you mentioned that it was very difficult to push the piston back in, the master cylinder dose not pull the piston back into the calliper. Have you checked the pistons themselves? Is there any sign of rust around them as this could prevent them from returning into the calliper, the pads should run with very little gap between then and the disk. I would suggest that the rear calliper is striped, cleaned and checked for free movement.

Hope this helps.

Murray Mint
Old 06-Aug-2003, 23:06