Ducati Sporting Club UK
Idle Chat
Still needs to be clean and of value to the club.

Old 07-Apr-2004, 08:56
Mille

World Health Day

Today is World Health Day, I've been watching the BBC news and apparently more people will die as a result of a road accident than from disease by the year 2020.

Motorcyclists, cyclists, pedestrians and children are the most likely to be killed or injured. As usual the media are portraying bikers as the baddies, what about the bloody car drivers!

I've been biking for nearly 4 years now, I've had two accidents on the road caused by stupid car drivers; one jumped a red light, hit me and drove off leaving me for dead and the other pulled out of a pub car park in front of me and nearly killed me.

I thought I'd print the article as its interesting reading, I just wondered what other people thought?

Figures from the World Health Organization and the World Bank suggest another 50m people may be left injured by crashes annually.

The report warns that on current trends road traffic accidents could outstrip stroke and HIV as one of the main causes of preventable deaths by 2020.

The findings are published to mark World Health Day on Wednesday.

It is the first time World Health Day has focused on road safety. Officials at the WHO said they want to highlight the growing threat from traffic accidents.

"Too often road safety is treated as a transportation issue, not a public health issue," said Dr Lee Jong-wook, WHO director general.

The report shows that more than 3,000 people are killed in road accidents every day. Most of these are young adults between the ages of 15 and 44.

It warns that without urgent action the death toll could rise by 60% over the next 16 years.

It says road traffic injuries could be one of the biggest causes of preventable deaths by 2020 - third only to heart disease and depression.

The report suggests the safest roads are in Western Europe, with an average of 11 road deaths per 100,000 people.