Ducati Sporting Club UK
Idle Chat
Still needs to be clean and of value to the club.

Old 04-Aug-2004, 16:58
Bevel Head

Mood: sleepy
Puncture repair

Is it worth doing?
Is it safe?

Got a nail through my brand new rear tyre, it also took a chunk out of the hugger

Advice would be most appreciated

Thanks
Fods
Old 04-Aug-2004, 17:10
500SD

Mood: Missing my Flash...
If it's over the centre two thirds then yes - I had one repaired on my old R6 with no probs.

Some places will say that a Z-rated tyre shouldn't be repaired, but I think it's ok as long as it's across the centre (but I'm no tyre expert!).

Ade.
Old 04-Aug-2004, 17:12
BSB Star

Mood: the rain in spain falls mainly on me!
from my experience.......

yes if the tyre still has lots left in it (clearly yours has)

done 150 (private road) on a plugged one in the past.

BUT if YOU have any doubts, get a new one, you need confidence in it.

personally i would get it repaired.
Old 04-Aug-2004, 17:32
DSC Club Member
Big Twin

Motorcycle Tire Repair Guidelines

This topic comes up often with the obligatory dire warnings. So ask yourself ...

How is the safety risk of a leak from a repaired tire any different than the risk of a puncture in the first place? The consequences are the same. The overall risk of injury is also the same. The failure probability of a properly repaired tire from all accounts is no greater than the chance of running over a nail in the first place.

So, if you're going to get squeamish, you should probably do so BEFORE you get on a motorcycle.

We live in an age where everyone sues anyone for anything ... so no wonder it’s hard to get a tire manufacturer or a repair shop to get past the liability issue to agree to patch a freakin’ tire. Our grandfathers would be amused (and also a bit ashamed) at us throwing away a perfectly good tire because it got a puncture. So, if you can’t get a dealer or tire shop to dismount the tire and properly patch it from the inside, then buy a kit and do it yourself.