Ducati Sporting Club UK

Old 21-Jul-2004, 17:42
Montjuic
Bikes: Ducati Multistrada V4S Sport

749s running in?

Hi all,
I'm a newbie to Ducati and have just bought a 749s.
I have a problem and I hope that you can help me or reasure me that I've not got a duffer!!
When the engine is sufficiently warm, if I need to stop for any reason, unless I keep the engine rpm high or keep revving, there is a misfire and the engine cuts out (very embarrasing). I had this problem with the demo 999 and 749 before I bought my bike but the sales guy just said they needed servicing. My question is, have I bought a duffer, am I doing something wrong or is it quite normal and will be rsolved after the first service?
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks
Stevo
Old 21-Jul-2004, 17:46
Big Twin

Mood: Sans moto
There is a problem with 749's stalling - have a look on earlier posts in the tech section.
Your dealer WILL know about this - who is it?

And welcome to the board.
Old 21-Jul-2004, 17:48
Big Twin

Mood: Train comes and I know its destination
My 999S stalls occasionally, even with the engine hot. Seems to be a fact of life, you have to factor that in when deciding whether it's safe to pull out into the traffic.

I'd get the cause of the misfire looked at - don't like the sound of that.
Old 21-Jul-2004, 18:03

Not sure about the misfire, but as for the stalling, my experiences tell me that if i warm her up slowly (without exceeding 2000rpm, prefferably lower) and only jump on once the temp is up to about 50 I don't have any problems. If i jump on before she's up to temp or rev too high on warm-up I have problems with stalling.

Just my experience, dunno if anyone else can relate to this?

ps. Welcome!
Old 21-Jul-2004, 19:39
Big Twin

Mood: Proud to own a Ducati :0)