Ducati Sporting Club UK

Old 08-May-2005, 21:38

Buying Tips?? for a 900ss

First of all I'd like to say hello to you all and I thought it was about time I registered after being nosy for a couple of weeks!
I've been given first shout on a '93 900ss that's been unused for almost 2 years. All I've seen is pictures of it and have fallen in love. The guy is asking £1000 for it. I know the tank is dented, after his Mille fell on it. Unfortunately neither me or the bike are in the UK until July so anything that needs doing to it will have to be DIY. I'm an experience mechanic and think putting new cambelts on for starters. Is there anything else you think I'll need to look at? Any thoughts on the bike?
Cheers
Steve
Back on the road after being 'off road'

[Edited on 8-5-2005 by tightlines]
Old 08-May-2005, 21:53
Ducati Meccanica

Mood: Damp
Hi Steve, welcome to the board! Mine's a bucket of guiness please....

If it's been unused for two years you'll definitely want to change the belts (possibly before starting it up. although it should be ok). I'd also look at changing the tyres, chain (unless it was greased), etc.

There may be a couple of seals on their way out (output shaft seal), especially those that have been out of contact with oil for a while. Worn swingarm shims can have a dire effect on handling, as can head bearings.

Sounds like a bargain, you can do an awful lot to a 900 for a few hundred quid. A US company does full stainless bolt kits for about £30, a single seat (SL style) from Ricambi Weiss in germany is about £50, High level termis or Sils c.£200, carb-warming kit (standard on later models) £70, tinted screen £45, etc, etc. All of a sudden you've spent £5k on an SS, but it's money well spent!

Have fun and lets see some pics when you get back.

Cheers,

Ali
Old 08-May-2005, 21:57

Ali,
Nice one, exactly the reply I was looking for.
Thanks very much
Steve
Old 08-May-2005, 21:57
500SD

Mood: Must fix Superlight... Must fix Superlight...