Ducati Sporting Club UK
General Motorcycles only
General motorcycle issues, including non-Ducati, but keep it motorcycles!

Old 30-Dec-2004, 15:24
Ducati Meccanica

Mood: st2......we can rebuild
is my battery dead

as i'm off work for xmas and the new year i've popped my bike onto the optimate thingy keep the battery nice n fresh.
after the charge the little light comes on saying weak.
what does this mean?
is it just a matter of knocking some miles up to get it charging right, or time to get a new one.
it seems to turn the engine over as well as ever.
also when it first went on charge the desulphate light was on.
once again i'm clueless
Old 30-Dec-2004, 16:34
Ducati Meccanica

Mood: 900,900,851,750,750,750, 600,600,450,350,350,250
Hmmm
'smart' changers ... I'm getting fed up with mine ... I'm an electronics engineer by training, and the 3 different ones I have all get it wrong for pretty simple things.
Personally, I hate the optimate, cos it promises the most and delivers ... quite a bit less than that ( I have had several batteries that it has said were crap which have charged perfectly with its cousin the simpler 'ultimate')
Because the chargers monitor the battery terminal voltage differently according to what amount of current they are putting in, different things can confuse them.
My latest problem has been that those stupid right-angled bits on my 748 have had the horizontal-bolt-bit start to come out (couldnt feel them tightening properly), which caused just a bit of a bad connection, and hence about 0.2V extra drop on charge which caused the charger to short-cycle in and out of boost and maintenance mode. (Sorry to go on, but that means its not good !)
If you have this kind of problem it will prob mean that the bikes reg wont charge the batt properly either !
ALWAYS CHECK ALL THE BOLTS FOR TIGHTNESS FIRST !!!