Ducati Sporting Club
Home Calendar Gallery Membership Online Shop DSC Blogs Extras
Go Back   Ducati Sporting Club > Model Specific - Discussion, Technical Problems and Help > 999 / 749
Reload this Page poor running with PC111 and termis
Forum Home Register FAQ Search Forum Recent Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29-Jul-2005, 10:04 AM
749er's Avatar
749er 749er is offline
Registered Forum User
Ducati Meccanica
 
Posts: 2,895
Join Date: Mar 2005
Mood: Auto racing, bull fighting, and mountain climbing are the only real sports ... all others are games
poor running with PC111 and termis

ok, am pretty sure what the problem is so in summary

Before
Termis with standard ecu, and injectors adjusted to suit, it went like a train

After PC111 (with map for 749 with Termis) fitted
starts without choke, terrible acceleration, poor fuel consumption

So it seems the injector adjustment to get the bike to run with the standard ecu has left it a bit rich.

Is there an easy way to adjust the injectors myself, or can it be done at a dealer with a lambda sensor, or do I have to go to a rolling road. If so who can you recommend in the south west london area.

Lastly, can I do it myself by adjusting the controls on the PC111?

cheers

Derek
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29-Jul-2005, 10:14 AM
Twinfan's Avatar
Twinfan Twinfan is offline
Registered Forum User
Big Twin
 
Posts: 1,774
Join Date: May 2004
Mood: Proud to own a Ducati :0)
Sounds like the map you have is for the Termi ECU not the standard one? You can adjust the PCIII yourself using the buttons on it.

I would book the bike in for a custom map.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29-Jul-2005, 10:29 AM
JPM's Avatar
JPM JPM is offline
Registered Forum User
BSB Star
 
Posts: 5,686
Join Date: Jun 2001
Mood: Soon my pet, soon
Get it booked in at a dynojet authorised dyno centre and get a few hours dyno time to dial it in, you can just disconnect the PC111 for now and run it as such at least it'll be better
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29-Jul-2005, 11:00 AM
749er's Avatar
749er 749er is offline
Registered Forum User
Ducati Meccanica
 
Posts: 2,895
Join Date: Mar 2005
Mood: Auto racing, bull fighting, and mountain climbing are the only real sports ... all others are games
Quote:
Originally posted by JPM
Get it booked in at a dynojet authorised dyno centre and get a few hours dyno time to dial it in, you can just disconnect the PC111 for now and run it as such at least it'll be better

am really trying to avoid a few hours on the dyno from the point of view that my rear tyre is pretty new and dont want it squared off fro the tuning process. Will disconnect it for now. Will check the map
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29-Jul-2005, 11:03 AM
Twinfan's Avatar
Twinfan Twinfan is offline
Registered Forum User
Big Twin
 
Posts: 1,774
Join Date: May 2004
Mood: Proud to own a Ducati :0)
You could buy/get an old tyre from a fitting place and use that for the map?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29-Jul-2005, 11:19 AM
749er's Avatar
749er 749er is offline
Registered Forum User
Ducati Meccanica
 
Posts: 2,895
Join Date: Mar 2005
Mood: Auto racing, bull fighting, and mountain climbing are the only real sports ... all others are games
good idea on the tyre!

just checked my map is for stock ecu, termis and DP filters
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29-Jul-2005, 11:34 AM
Twinfan's Avatar
Twinfan Twinfan is offline
Registered Forum User
Big Twin
 
Posts: 1,774
Join Date: May 2004
Mood: Proud to own a Ducati :0)
Each map is only as the good as the bike it was mapped on. If the map you've got is from a bike that wasn't set up well, and your bike is well set up, then it's going to be pants. Personally, I wouldn't bother with a PCIII unless you're going to get a custom map.

Get a cheap/free rear tyre from your local fitting place and get a custom map
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29-Jul-2005, 11:35 AM
TP's Avatar
TP TP is offline
Registered Forum User
MotoGP God
 
Posts: 15,650
Join Date: Apr 2004
Mood: 749 racebike MGP
749er have a word to Steve at Wraysbury Tyres. If you don't know who he is just tell him you're a DSC member and he'll look after you.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29-Jul-2005, 11:41 AM
khu996's Avatar
khu996 khu996 is offline
Registered Forum User
Big Twin
 
Posts: 1,216
Join Date: Aug 2004
749er, I did exactly the same thing, had the Termi's fitted, thought it would run OK with the map from the Power Commander site (the same one you're using), and it left it running very lean, with fluffy throttle response to about 5k.

Had it dyno'd and set up by John at JHP and its sweet as...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29-Jul-2005, 01:17 PM
749er's Avatar
749er 749er is offline
Registered Forum User
Ducati Meccanica
 
Posts: 2,895
Join Date: Mar 2005
Mood: Auto racing, bull fighting, and mountain climbing are the only real sports ... all others are games
So where is JHP? Cant find them on the web

Have had a quote from Cooperized in Feltham for about 100 to tune it up, thats about 3 hours.

Anyone used these guys?
Reply With Quote
Reply
  
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector
Switch to Vertical postbit Use Vertical Postbit

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Recent Posts - Contact Us - DSC Home - Archive - Top
Powered by vBulletin 3.5.4 - Copyright © 2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. - © Ducati Sporting Club - All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:22 AM.