Ducati Sporting Club
Home Calendar Gallery Membership Online Shop DSC Blogs Extras
Go Back   Ducati Sporting Club > General > Technical - Help or Info - NON Motorcycle
Reload this Page Broadband providers which one?
Forum Home Register FAQ Search Forum Recent Posts Mark Forums Read

Technical - Help or Info - NON Motorcycle PC's, Internet etc. Cars, or how to fix that leaky radiator - in here please!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-Sep-2005, 02:55 PM
TopiToo TopiToo is offline
Registered Forum User
Ducati Meccanica
Bikes: 748ish . .
 
Posts: 2,122
Join Date: Sep 2001
Mood: Sampai jumpa lagi
Broadband providers which one?

Hello

I know this has been covered before, but I guess pricing plans/good service has moved on. So

At present with Telewest, but moving house so have decided to cancel, as there appears to be cheaper out there!

http://www.onetel.co.uk/index.php?no...dband-standard

for one . . the other option being I stay away from Telewest for a month then re-join as a new member and reap all the benefits. . . . which are . . . . em no bloody idea

any input would be great.

regards

TopiToo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-Sep-2005, 03:01 PM
ali's Avatar
ali ali is offline
Registered Forum User
Ducati Meccanica
 
Posts: 2,463
Join Date: May 2004
Mood: Damp
It's a bloody minefield! There's a few providers coming up with 20/24Mb connections soon, but in the mean time check here:

http://www.adslguide.org/isps/compare.asp

I use Eclipse as you don't need a contract, just pay monthly. They've just upgraded my line to 2mb for free and without me asking for it whaich is fine by me.

Ali
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-Sep-2005, 03:33 PM
Rattler's Avatar
Rattler Rattler is offline
Registered Forum User
WSB Hero
 
Posts: 8,867
Join Date: May 2002
Mood: www.cantbearsed.co.uk
Also check here;

http://www.uk-broadband-review.com

A good site for info and recommendations

Tim
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-Sep-2005, 01:05 AM
sye73 sye73 is offline
Registered Forum User
GTL
 
Posts: 474
Join Date: May 2005
(Not sure if I can be sued for using the company's full name,so I'll just have to give you a clue......!)
NAWADOO are absolutely useless,and would never recommend them to anyone!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-Sep-2005, 08:54 AM
crm250's Avatar
crm250 crm250 is offline
Registered Forum User
500SD
 
Posts: 731
Join Date: Apr 2003
Mood: Firing on all 4 !!
all much a muchness to a certain extent. if you are happy with a wires only service (you supply your own router / modem and self config) then i would stick with either nildram, zen, plus net, ecllipse or bulldog. they can work out slightly cheaper for some cases but their speeds and service is good.
i have used many and found the above very good.
I do though require static ip's and do some VPN configs with mine so perhaps a bit of overkill for you.
i would reccomend going wires only if you are confident with a router and config'ing yourself (ie username / password) and also reccomend using a router over a cheaper modem just for that extra level of protection.
need any help or advice feel free to PM me
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-Sep-2005, 08:28 PM
TopiToo TopiToo is offline
Registered Forum User
Ducati Meccanica
Bikes: 748ish . .
 
Posts: 2,122
Join Date: Sep 2001
Mood: Sampai jumpa lagi
Hello

Thank you for all the tips/advice. Yep looks like a "minefield"

But some of the links are helpful.

regards

TopiToo
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-Sep-2005, 08:41 PM
Jasper's Avatar
Jasper Jasper is offline
Registered Forum User
Ducati Corse
 
Posts: 3,701
Join Date: Jun 2002
Plus net for me:

www.Plus.net.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-Sep-2005, 09:34 AM
rcgbob44's Avatar
rcgbob44 rcgbob44 is offline
Registered Forum User
BSB Star
 
Posts: 5,984
Join Date: May 2003
Mood: My Jota goes rumpety rump! & I have my wife exactly where she wants me!
I`m with AOL and the only problems I have got with them is that they now charge for technical calls to a service centre in India where the staff can hardly be understood!

I have also just installed a wireless router at home and it keeps locking up and needs constantly re booting.

have a nice, glitch free, day!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-Sep-2005, 09:50 AM
Ozz's Avatar
Ozz Ozz is offline
Registered Forum User
Ducati in my Blood
Bikes: 848 Evo Corse
 
Posts: 4,941
Join Date: Sep 2003
Mood: Waiting for the revolution!
I am plusnet too. No problems in about 2 years (ish)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-Sep-2005, 09:55 AM
YMFB's Avatar
YMFB YMFB is offline
Registered Forum User
Ducati Meccanica
Bikes: R1200RT F800GS. Hopefully another Ducati soon
 
Posts: 2,527
Join Date: Apr 2005
ive just moved some of our work qa/c from pipex to plus net and we have been upgraded to 2 mb's so will be changing others as and when.

We need static ip's and they are included as well as a fax number, which just sends the faxs to your specified e mail address so we have cancelled two telephone lines as well.
Reply With Quote
Reply
  
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector
Switch to Vertical postbit Use Vertical Postbit

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Recent Posts - Contact Us - DSC Home - Archive - Top
Powered by vBulletin 3.5.4 - Copyright © 2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. - © Ducati Sporting Club - All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:24 AM.