Ducati Sporting Club
Home Calendar Gallery Membership Online Shop DSC Blogs Extras
Go Back   Ducati Sporting Club > General > Technical - Help or Info - NON Motorcycle
Reload this Page Wireless broadband
Forum Home Register FAQ Search Forum Recent Posts Mark Forums Read

Technical - Help or Info - NON Motorcycle PC's, Internet etc. Cars, or how to fix that leaky radiator - in here please!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 16-Aug-2006, 08:14 PM
rockhopper's Avatar
rockhopper rockhopper is offline
Registered Forum User
Ducati Corse
 
Posts: 3,370
Join Date: Jul 2001
Wireless broadband

Hi guys.
I signed up for the Orange Broadband offer (mobile phone plus free broadband and wireless modem).

The modem turned up today and i've been trying to get it working. Connected to my lap top by an ethernet cable it works fine but i can't get it to work with the wireless thing. I've got a pcmcia wirelss card plugged in. Clicking on the icon by the clock brings up the wirelsss network box which tells me that i am connected to the Livebox (which is the Orange modem) but top right where i'm told it should say connected or disconnected it just says "validating identity" and the orange wireless set up routine say it cannot connect.

I'm an internet numpty so can someone help?

I'm running windows XP Home by the way.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16-Aug-2006, 08:36 PM
chrisw's Avatar
chrisw chrisw is offline
Registered Forum User
500SD
Bikes: 999 Mono/1198S
 
Posts: 803
Join Date: Jun 2002
Mood: Messing with diagnostics
Have you configured your wireless card with the network key for your router?

This is usually found on a sticker on the bottom of the router. Once armed with this double click on the green signal strength meter. Click the advanced tab. Make sure the network is highlighted in available networks and click configure. Enter the network key in the appropriate box and click OK. You should be up and running then.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16-Aug-2006, 08:37 PM
TopiToo TopiToo is offline
Registered Forum User
Ducati Meccanica
Bikes: 748ish . .
 
Posts: 2,122
Join Date: Sep 2001
Mood: Sampai jumpa lagi
Hello rockhopper

I have a wireless network setup (Belkin), don't quote me
but if you are getting a connection via ethernet cable
you need to type in something like http://192.168 etc etc in your brouser, which should bring up a setup page that allows you to set security for your (wireless thing) (router maybe) normally 64-bit WEP is ok then disconnect the ethernet cable and try wireless.

Good luck

maybe somebody will be along with more info

TopiToo
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16-Aug-2006, 09:28 PM
rockhopper's Avatar
rockhopper rockhopper is offline
Registered Forum User
Ducati Corse
 
Posts: 3,370
Join Date: Jul 2001
Hi Gents. Yes i've entered that code Chris, its just keeps saying validating identity. It loks like thats where the problem is though doesn't it? TopiToo, that address doesn't work, i guess i need to now what the etc etc bit actually is!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16-Aug-2006, 09:42 PM
chrisw's Avatar
chrisw chrisw is offline
Registered Forum User
500SD
Bikes: 999 Mono/1198S
 
Posts: 803
Join Date: Jun 2002
Mood: Messing with diagnostics
Found this, it may help

http://help.orange.co.uk/documentDisplay.do?clusterName=DefaultCluster&prev iew=1&groupId=1&page=http://ESERVER_c2e0c301-4908-4256-9aef-d3cdb6f7f027.xhtml&docType=1006&resultType=5002&do cProp=$solution_id&docPropValue=kb166
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16-Aug-2006, 10:08 PM
rockhopper's Avatar
rockhopper rockhopper is offline
Registered Forum User
Ducati Corse
 
Posts: 3,370
Join Date: Jul 2001
Thanks Chris.

I got into the router configuration thing an turned off he securty and i still couldn't connect to it so it looks like my wireless card is giving me trouble.

Also non of the configuration screens on my computer look quite the same as the ones on the Orange web site!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16-Aug-2006, 11:15 PM
TopiToo TopiToo is offline
Registered Forum User
Ducati Meccanica
Bikes: 748ish . .
 
Posts: 2,122
Join Date: Sep 2001
Mood: Sampai jumpa lagi
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockhopper
TopiToo, that address doesn't work, i guess i need to now what the etc etc bit actually is!

Hello rockhopper,

somewhere in the manual for the router should be a default web page ie 192.168 something , something etc there all different, Its a default that allows you to access the router to get to security settings etc.

sorry its how I set my belkin network up,


TopiToo
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17-Aug-2006, 08:20 AM
rockhopper's Avatar
rockhopper rockhopper is offline
Registered Forum User
Ducati Corse
 
Posts: 3,370
Join Date: Jul 2001
No thats fine, i got into the set up by the utility that Orange provide (once i'd found the password) but turning the secuity off all together didn't help.
The problem might be that i don't have any software or info for the wireless card i'm using so i'll get a new one at dinner time and see if that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17-Aug-2006, 10:11 AM
antonye's Avatar
DSC Member antonye antonye is offline
Administrator
Webteam
MotoGP God
Bikes: 748S, HM1100S, DD-A
 
Posts: 12,716
Join Date: Feb 2002
Mood: Passion Killer
username: admin
password: admin



You may need to press one of the buttons (I think it's button 1) on the box, as your wireless system is probably trying to connect with all the right details, but you have not be "hard" authorised - that is that the box doesn't yet know to accept your MAC address.

This is an extra layer of security. It means that even if someone has your network key (printed on the cd sleeve) they still can't get onto your network as they need physical access to the box to press the button and authenticate themselves.

I suggest you read through the manual that came with the box and make sure you carefully follow the steps, as you may have missed something.


I'd rather die peacefully in my sleep like my Grandfather,
than screaming in terror like his passengers.- Jim Harkins

Ducati 748S | Ducati Hypermotard 1100S | 600-620SS DesmoDue Racebike #111 <-- Sold!! | Avanti Race Parts
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17-Aug-2006, 10:14 AM
rockhopper's Avatar
rockhopper rockhopper is offline
Registered Forum User
Ducati Corse
 
Posts: 3,370
Join Date: Jul 2001
Dam, you susssed my top secret passwords!

Yes, it has those two buttons, press one to put it into pairing mode as they call it.

I'll have another six hours at it tonight perhaps.
Reply With Quote
Reply
  
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector
Switch to Vertical postbit Use Vertical Postbit

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Recent Posts - Contact Us - DSC Home - Archive - Top
Powered by vBulletin 3.5.4 - Copyright © 2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. - © Ducati Sporting Club - All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:36 PM.