Ducati Sporting Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15-Feb-2004, 11:17 PM
chris999 chris999 is offline
Registered Forum User
Mille
 
Posts: 359
Join Date: Jun 2001
Mood: red and proud !!!!
102db termis

just taken plunge and bought new 999bip
rather than beat around the bush and delay (like on my other ducatis) already bought termi's / air filter and chip kit.
will i need to get the bike "set up" for this? theres a small line in the instructions that refers to the adjustment of mixture...
could it also have a detrimental affect to the bike during the "running in period".
thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16-Feb-2004, 06:28 AM
KeefyB KeefyB is offline
Registered Forum User
WSB Hero
 
Posts: 7,603
Join Date: May 2002
Mood: Lurkin'.....
I think the short answer is yes.
Why not have the kit fitted at the bikes first service?
You also have to have your keys reprogrammed to the new CPU.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16-Feb-2004, 07:57 AM
yellowisfriedegg yellowisfriedegg is offline
Registered Forum User
GTL
 
Posts: 453
Join Date: Jun 2001
Mood: going for a ride...
Quote:
Originally posted by keefyboy
You also have to have your keys reprogrammed to the new CPU.

oh no you don't , I fitted both the full system to my 999S and the assymetric system to Mrs eggs 749S and you don't need to do anything with the keys.

You do however need to re-set the speedo / clock etc as you have to disconnect the battery to change the ECU
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16-Feb-2004, 01:25 PM
KeefyB KeefyB is offline
Registered Forum User
WSB Hero
 
Posts: 7,603
Join Date: May 2002
Mood: Lurkin'.....
Hey,what do I know?
Mine was already on the bike when I got it!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16-Feb-2004, 07:21 PM
andyb's Avatar
andyb andyb is offline
Registered Forum User
BSB Star
 
Posts: 6,721
Join Date: Feb 2002
Mood: Has change happened...must of missed it!
what size did you get? and cost?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17-Feb-2004, 08:15 AM
jk2's Avatar
jk2 jk2 is offline
Registered Forum User
 
Posts: 23
Join Date: Aug 2003
You definitely need to get the CO re-calibrated. JHP do a good job in Coventry. Better still get a power commander fitted.

My 999s has a 50mm system with power commander fitted and set up on a rolling road. The bike makes 132 bhp at the rear wheel on a dyno which is regularly calibrated.

My GSXR 1000 on the same dyno with similar mods makes 151 bhp.

Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17-Feb-2004, 11:45 AM
chris999 chris999 is offline
Registered Forum User
Mille
 
Posts: 359
Join Date: Jun 2001
Mood: red and proud !!!!
termi\'s

thanks guys.
good idea to fit directly before first service then kill 2 birds with one stone..
Reply With Quote
Reply
  
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector
Switch to Vertical postbit Use Vertical Postbit

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Recent Posts - Contact Us - DSC Home - Archive - Top
Powered by vBulletin 3.5.4 - Copyright © 2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. - © Ducati Sporting Club - All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:40 PM.