Ducati Sporting Club
Home Calendar Gallery Membership Online Shop DSC Blogs Extras
Go Back   Ducati Sporting Club > Model Specific - Discussion, Technical Problems and Help > 1198 / 1098 / 848
Reload this Page Gear Indicator fitting problem - HELP PLEASE?!?!
Forum Home Register FAQ Search Forum Recent Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13-Aug-2009, 01:48 PM
star1970's Avatar
star1970 star1970 is offline
Registered Forum User
Bikes: Ducati 1098
 
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jul 2009
Gear Indicator fitting problem - HELP PLEASE?!?!

Gear Indicator fitting problem - HELP PLEASE?!?!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm trying to fit a Biketronix gear indicator to my 1098 with a lot of frustration and expletives yet without much success at present --- arrgghh!

All I need (sounds simple, I hope it is) is to know which colour wire either at the rear of the speedo or the ECU is the 'tacho / pulse' wire...

Anyone out there who can help me please? I even have the wiring diagram, but am still not the wiser.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15-Aug-2009, 08:32 AM
KeefyB KeefyB is offline
Registered Forum User
WSB Hero
 
Posts: 7,603
Join Date: May 2002
Mood: Lurkin'.....
Just spotted this,......in the non m/cycle help board.Mebbe the webteam can move it?

Does'nt the 1098 use can line electrics similar to the 749/999?
If that is the case,I would say fitting some aftermarket gear indicator would be damn near impossible.
I cant say I've ever needed one,would'nt it become a distraction on the road?A lot of riders moan when the service spanner icon starts flashing.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15-Aug-2009, 09:12 AM
Iconic944ss's Avatar
DSC Member Iconic944ss Iconic944ss is offline
DSC Webteam
Webteam
WSB Hero
Bikes: 1993 - 944ss / Aprilia Falco / ST4S
 
Posts: 7,733
Join Date: Oct 2002
Moved

Here is the manufacturers website:

http://www.biketronix-racing.com/

No mention of a UK dealer sadly.............

However,

By co-incidence I was looking for a new multi-meter the other day and noticed that Maplin sell some very reasonable meters that have the ability to measure RPM from some sort of inductive loop!

Not sure if this really would help you find the wire you are looking for but good luck.


Cheers - Frank
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-Aug-2009, 10:42 AM
iang's Avatar
iang iang is offline
Registered Forum User
Big Twin
 
Posts: 1,170
Join Date: Jan 2003
I tried for weeks to fit a gear indicator to my RC8 and found it impossible to get a strong enough pulse with the can bus wiring system. Even the manufacturer could not get it to work.

The most helpful company was Acumen, I told them it was one of their indicators and they tried their best to help, the wiring was fairly similar.

http://www.acutrac.co.uk/diagnostics...inLinksDG8.htm
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-Aug-2009, 10:18 PM
duc daz's Avatar
duc daz duc daz is offline
Registered Forum User
500SD
 
Posts: 549
Join Date: Sep 2005
Mood: a ducati is for life not just for christmas
Red face

i was told when i brought my 1098 that a gear indicator would not work on this bike
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16-Aug-2009, 01:54 AM
skidlids's Avatar
DSC Region Organiser skidlids skidlids is offline
MotoGP God
 
Posts: 18,150
Join Date: Apr 2002
Mood: Its ONLY a Bike Club
Quote:
Originally Posted by star1970
Gear Indicator fitting problem - HELP PLEASE?!?!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm trying to fit a Biketronix gear indicator to my 1098 with a lot of frustration and expletives yet without much success at present --- arrgghh!

All I need (sounds simple, I hope it is) is to know which colour wire either at the rear of the speedo or the ECU is the 'tacho / pulse' wire...

Anyone out there who can help me please? I even have the wiring diagram, but am still not the wiser.


I cant be certain
but on the 998 the Green/Grey (G/Gr) is the tacho wire coming from pin 9 of the body connector

On the 1098 there is a green/Grey (G/Gr) coming from pin 29 of the body connector that goes to both the Dash and the Data Aquisition port

So this maybe the wire your after
Reply With Quote
Reply
  
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector
Switch to Vertical postbit Use Vertical Postbit

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Recent Posts - Contact Us - DSC Home - Archive - Top
Powered by vBulletin 3.5.4 - Copyright © 2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. - © Ducati Sporting Club - All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:34 PM.