Ducati Sporting Club
Home Calendar Gallery Membership Online Shop DSC Blogs Extras
Go Back   Ducati Sporting Club > Model Specific - Discussion, Technical Problems and Help > 998 / 996 / 916 / 748
Reload this Page Gear Indicator for 998 Track Bike
Forum Home Register FAQ Search Forum Recent Posts Mark Forums Read

Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17-Sep-2009, 09:27 PM
aide998tt aide998tt is offline
Registered Forum User
Posts: 78
Join Date: Mar 2009
Gear Indicator for 998 Track Bike

Hi all,
After turning my 998 into a track bike, i did my first track day at Cadwell park, can i first say what a awesome track it is, s*%t myself first time i went over the mountain but totally hooked,think am going to be book on the track day with you guys at cadwell next june.Anyway about the day being riding 4 cylinder bike since i passed my test, so did not know if i would get on with a V twin especially on my first track day and with some new pirelli supercorsa 3 on front & rear, a bit steady the first couple of session than got faster throughout the day loved the goose neck and the mountain.
The problem i was having was not knowing which gear i was in around the track especially going into corners which was messing up my lines, does anyone know of a good gear lndicator i can buy which will fit my 998.

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
Old 18-Sep-2009, 04:54 PM
DEMON's Avatar
DEMON DEMON is offline
Registered Forum User
Bikes: 996 sps foggy, 2001 r6, 1098S, s1000rr, Panigale 1199S
Posts: 248
Join Date: Jul 2005
Mood: on the back wheel !!
the datatool mechanical version (if they still make it), uses magnets in the brake disc bolts and a pick up to give the unit the speed input, and a soldered in wiring psec forn the tacho pick up. send them an email from their site to see if they make them still
Reply With Quote
Old 18-Sep-2009, 05:19 PM
Ray's Avatar
Ray Ray is offline
Registered Forum User
Ducati Corse
Posts: 3,544
Join Date: May 2001
Mood: R U thinking what I'm thinking?......Oh dear!
Have a look here.

Units and all the bits and pieces to make it work with a cable speedo.


If you really want to splash some cash you could go for a whole new dash unit.

have look at this thread



Last edited by Ray : 18-Sep-2009 at 05:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector
Switch to Vertical postbit Use Vertical Postbit

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Recent Posts - Contact Us - DSC Home - Archive - Top
Powered by vBulletin 3.5.4 - Copyright © 2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. - © Ducati Sporting Club - All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:32 AM.