Ducati Sporting Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-Jun-2011, 10:17 PM
Dougie748's Avatar
Dougie748 Dougie748 is offline
Registered Forum User
Bevel Head
 
Posts: 94
Join Date: Oct 2008
Mood: Alway's smiling when on my Duke
Ducati 1098 blank Dash

Looking for some advice please.
Out at the weekend and all of a sudden the dash went blank, nothing showing not even any lights showing on the dash.
At the same time my headlight went off along with my indicators.
Continued home then turned ignition off then on and the bike would not even turn over and dash still blank.
Alarm seems to arm and disarm okay with the indicators flashing. Alarm is a Datatool s4.
I managed to figure out how to start the bike.
When alarm on turn ignition key to on and alarm goes off disarm with remote then press the ignition button and it starts but dash is still blank.
Forgot to say when alarm goes off and the siren goes off the dash lights flash on and off while the alarm is sounding.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-Jun-2011, 10:04 AM
Bionicle's Avatar
Bionicle Bionicle is offline
Registered Forum User
Ducati Meccanica
Bikes: Ducati 1098R Bayliss Rep
 
Posts: 2,142
Join Date: Jun 2004
Mood: Find people who share your values, and you'll conquer the world together.
I would start with checking the fuses and then the plug in connector on the back of the dash, other than that i have no idea.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-Jun-2011, 10:12 AM
Chaz's Avatar
Chaz Chaz is offline
Registered Forum User
Ducati Corse
Bikes: 916 Strada
 
Posts: 3,844
Join Date: Jul 2003
Mood: www.od2racing.co.uk
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bionicle
I would start with checking the fuses and then the plug in connector on the back of the dash, other than that i have no idea.

There was a thread about this on one of the forums some time ago I recall,can't remember where think it was as simple as disconnect the battery & reconnect this reboots the system maybe?? worth a try! good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-Jun-2011, 07:45 PM
Dougie748's Avatar
Dougie748 Dougie748 is offline
Registered Forum User
Bevel Head
 
Posts: 94
Join Date: Oct 2008
Mood: Alway's smiling when on my Duke
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaz
There was a thread about this on one of the forums some time ago I recall,can't remember where think it was as simple as disconnect the battery & reconnect this reboots the system maybe?? worth a try! good luck.
Checked all the fuses in the fuse box above the battery and the large fuse to the left of the battery.
Disconected the battery and still no dash blank.
Just need to figure out how to get into the multi plug at rear of headlights.
My indicators are not working either so must be something to do with the dash and indicators.
However the rear indicators flash when arming and disarming the datatool alarm.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-Jun-2011, 08:48 PM
Bionicle's Avatar
Bionicle Bionicle is offline
Registered Forum User
Ducati Meccanica
Bikes: Ducati 1098R Bayliss Rep
 
Posts: 2,142
Join Date: Jun 2004
Mood: Find people who share your values, and you'll conquer the world together.
Just take nose cone off and pull headlights forward a bit and you will be able to reach it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-Jun-2011, 12:38 PM
Dougie748's Avatar
Dougie748 Dougie748 is offline
Registered Forum User
Bevel Head
 
Posts: 94
Join Date: Oct 2008
Mood: Alway's smiling when on my Duke
Had a good look and all seems to be okay other than the dash blank and indicators not working.
The only way to start the bike is by doing the following.
1 Arm bike with the remote indicators flash once.
2 turn ignition key on and alarm sounds and dash flashes on and off with the alarm sounding.
3 disarm the alarm with the remote.
4 press starter button and bike starts first time but dash still blank and indicators not working.

I think it has something to do with the datatool alarm so how do i disconnect it to see if the dash and indicators work?

If I just disarm the alarm with the remote then turn the ignition on nothing happens when I press the starter button.
The alarm needs to be triggerd in order to start the bike.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-Jun-2011, 01:55 PM
skidlids's Avatar
DSC Region Organiser skidlids skidlids is offline
MotoGP God
 
Posts: 18,163
Join Date: Apr 2002
Mood: Its ONLY a Bike Club
I wonder if the alarm is tapped into the wire from the ignition switch to the dash, Gr/Bk wire on pin one of the dash connector
Otherwise the dash connector has 3 pins with fused supplies to them as well as the all important earth but as the inbuilt immobiliser seems to be reading the key and sending the signal to the ECU I would have thought you would have some life on the dash if the bike starts and runs
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15-Jun-2011, 07:25 PM
Dougie748's Avatar
Dougie748 Dougie748 is offline
Registered Forum User
Bevel Head
 
Posts: 94
Join Date: Oct 2008
Mood: Alway's smiling when on my Duke
Still blank dash. Got the fairing off now and disconnected the dash then reconnected but still no display or lights on.
When the alarm is set off the dash display flashes on and off with the alarm sounding.
Checked all the fuses and they seem to be okay.
As said before the only way to start the bike is to set the datatool alarm off then disarm with the remote then push starter button to start.
The indicators are also not working but the rear ones flash when alarm is armed and disarmed.
Any suggestions as I am at a loss now?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25-Jun-2011, 07:35 PM
Dougie748's Avatar
Dougie748 Dougie748 is offline
Registered Forum User
Bevel Head
 
Posts: 94
Join Date: Oct 2008
Mood: Alway's smiling when on my Duke
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bionicle
I would start with checking the fuses and then the plug in connector on the back of the dash, other than that i have no idea.

Thanks Bionicle as it turned out to be No 4 fuse.
Dash now working.

I checked all the fuses and they all looked okay but on further inspection No 4 fuse for the instrument panel was faulty and fell apart when I removed it from the fuse holder.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 25-Jun-2011, 08:20 PM
bradders's Avatar
bradders bradders is offline
Registered Forum User
MotoGP God
Bikes: 848, M620 DD bike
 
Posts: 11,915
Join Date: Aug 2003
Mood: waiting...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dougie748
Thanks Bionicle as it turned out to be No 4 fuse.
Dash now working.

I checked all the fuses and they all looked okay but on further inspection No 4 fuse for the instrument panel was faulty and fell apart when I removed it from the fuse holder.

nearly always something simple

glad its fixed, just in time for this late summer we are about to get
Reply With Quote
Reply
  
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector
Switch to Vertical postbit Use Vertical Postbit

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Recent Posts - Contact Us - DSC Home - Archive - Top
Powered by vBulletin 3.5.4 - Copyright © 2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. - © Ducati Sporting Club - All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:18 AM.